Sparkling Sevilla wins third successive Europa League trophy

Sparkling Sevilla wins third successive Europa League trophy

Sevilla became the first team ever to pick up the Europa League trophy three consecutive times after the Spanish team came from behind to trounce Liverpool 3-1.

Jurgen Klopp’s team took the lead before the half-time whistle through Daniel Sturridge’s superb left-footed strike from outside the box, and the team had looked on course for the trophy as well as Champion’s League football.

The Reds then unraveled in the second half. In just 17 seconds after the break, they made the equalizer as defender Mariano Ferreira walked into the area and crossed low for Kevin Gameiro to score.

Unable to muster a reply, Liverpool conceded two more as Sevilla went rampant with their sparkling form. Vitolo cuts through midfield with a twist inside Dejan Lovren. As the ball broke loose on the edge of the area Andujar Coke arrived first and swept an excellent finish around Simon Mignolet into the bottom corner.

Sevilla’s third arrived through Coke once again. The ball was deflected into the path of the captain, who appeared offside as he controlled before beating Mignolet with a close-range finish. Klopp, his counterpart Unai Emery and the players argued with the referee’s assistant, but eventually referee Jonas Eriksson awarded the goal.

Liverpool needed a Dortmund, but they simply could not do it again, and slid to a second cup final defeat after conceding the Capital One Cup to Manchester City.

But it was a sheer testament of Sevilla’s mentality and talent. The win, while slightly controversial, proved that the team to handle the pressure when things go wrong – which Liverpool proved that they could not.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *